women's bureau. The Department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications as well as general information on labour management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian government and the International Labour Organization. The Canada Labour Relations Board and Information Canada report to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.

Department of Manpower and Immigration. The Department of Manpower and Immigration, created under the provisions of the Government Organization Act 1966 and operating now under RSC 1970, c.M-1, has responsibility for the development and utilization of manpower resources in Canada, employment services and immigration. The Department is composed of three operational arms: Operations Canada; the Manpower and Immigration Divisions; and two support service divisions, Program Development and Administration. Operations Canada directs the activities of 390 Canada Manpower Centres and 95 Immigration Centres in Canada assisted and co-ordinated by regional offices in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver. The Canada Manpower Division is responsible for counselling programs, manpower training and mobility programs, employer services and services for disadvantaged workers and students. The Canada Immigration Division administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination, movement and admission of immigrants to Canada, and for the exclusion or deportation of undesirable persons. The Department maintains 58 immigration offices abroad. The Department's support branches include the Strategic Planning and Research Division which supplies development and evaluation research, and the Administration Division which provides financial and management services, and personnel and information services.

The Canada Manpower and Immigration Council, the Immigration Appeal Board and the Unemployment Insurance Commission report to Parliament through the Minister of Manpower and Immigration.

Department of National Defence. The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces operate under the authority of the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The Minister of National Defence is responsible for the control and management of the Canadian Forces, the Defence Research Board and all matters relating to national defence. He is also responsible for the construction and maintenance of all defence establishments and facilities required for the defence of Canada.

The Deputy Minister is the senior public servant in the Department and the principal civilian adviser to the Minister on all departmental affairs. He is responsible for ensuring that all policy direction from the government is reflected in the administration of the Department and in military plans and operations. The Chief of the Defence Staff is the senior military adviser to the Minister and is charged with the control and administration of the Canadian Forces. He is responsible for the effective conduct of military operations and the readiness of the Canadian Forces to meet the commitments assigned to them by the government.

A Defence Council, consisting of the Minister of National Defence as chairman, the Deputy Minister of National Defence, the Chief of Defence Staff, the Chairman Defence Research Board, the Vice Chief of the Defence Staff, the Assistant Deputy Minister Policy, and the Deputy Chief of Defence Staff, meet as required to consider and advise on major policy matters. The Crown corporation Defence Construction (1951) Limited reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Defence.

Department of National Health and Welfare. This Department was established in October 1944 under the Department of National Health and Welfare Act (RSC 1970, c.N-9). An Administration Branch serves both the health and welfare branches. At present the Deputy Minister of Health administers five branches: Health Programs, Health Protection, Medical Services, Long Range Health Planning and Fitness and Amateur Sport. The Deputy Minister of Welfare administers seven branches: Income Security, International and Emergency Welfare, Social Allowances and Services, Canada Pension Plan, Policy Research and Long Range Planning, Policy and Program Development and Co-ordination, and Developmental Programs. The two Deputy Ministers are also involved in Canada's role in international health and welfare programs.

Departmental programs on health include hospital insurance and diagnostic services, medical care insurance, health resources, food and drug supervision, narcotics control, national health grants, federal emergency health services, environmental health, adverse drug reaction reporting, operation of a central clearing house for poison control centres, health, medical and hospital services to Indians and Eskimos across Canada and all residents of the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories, government employee health services and leprosy control as well as assistance and consultation services to the provinces on request.

Welfare programs include the Canada Pension Plan, old age security and guaranteed income supplements, family and youth allowances, the Canada Assistance Plan and emergency welfare services. There are also developmental programs, including national welfare grants, family planning grants and information and grants to groups of retired persons under the New Horizons program.

The National Council of Welfare reports directly to the Minister who also reports to Parliament for the Medical Research Council.